Our Company

Directors and Management

Directors and Management

Mr Dennis O’Neill
Managing Director

Dan is a geologist with over 30 years of international mining experience, having worked across Australasia, Africa, Asia and North America.

Dan has held positions with a number of Australian and multinational exploration companies, as well as managed exploration programs in a diverse range of environments and locations, including Botswana, North America, South East Asia, North Africa and Australasia.

During his career, Dan has held executive management positions with ASX listed companies and has worked on a range of commodities including diamonds, gold, base metals, coal, oil and gas. He was appointed a director on 10 March 2000.

Mr Alan Buckler 
Non-executive Director

A qualified mine manager with more than 40 years coal experience in Australia and Indonesia, Allan joined Sayona on 5 August, 2013.

He has had key roles in the establishment of several large mining and port operations in both Australia and Indonesia.

Allan is a former Director and Chief Operations Officer of New Hope Corporation Limited and has led the development of significant operations including PT Adaro Indonesia, PT Indonesia Bulk Terminal and PT Mult Harapan Utama in Indonesia.

Mr James Brown
Non-executive Director

Mr Brown holds formal qualifications in Mining Engineering with more than 25 years’ coal experience in Australia and Indonesia, and is the Managing Director of ASX listed Altura Mining Limited.

His coal development and operations experience includes the New Acland and Jeebropilly mines in South East Queensland, the Adaro and Multi Harapan Utama operations in Indonesia and Blair Athol in Central Queensland.

Mr Brown was appointed to the Board on 12 August, 2013.

Mr Paul Crawford
Executive Director and Company Secretary

Paul is an accountant with over 30 years of commercial experience in various technical and management roles within the minerals, coal and petroleum industries. He has also had significant corporate experience in the management and governance of ASX listed resource and mining companies.

He is the principal of a corporate consultancy firm he established in 2001, offering a range of commercial and corporate governance services to corporate clients.

Paul is currently an Executive Director and Company Secretary of ASX-listed companies ActivEx Limited and Company Secretary of Elementos Limited. He was appointed to the Board on 10 March 2000.

Mr Corey Nolan
Chief Executive Officer

Mr Nolan is the Chief Executive Officer of Sayona Mining and is responsible for leading the development and execution of the Company’s long term strategy to create shareholder value. This includes responsibility for all the day-to-day management decisions and implementing the Company’s strategic plans, and engagement with shareholders and stakeholders.

Mr Nolan is an experienced public company director and senior executive with more than 23 years’ experience in advisory, commercial and business development roles focused on the acquisition, funding, and development of resource projects.

Most recently, Mr Nolan was Managing Director (Feb 2014 – May 2015) of ASX/AIM listed Leyshon Resources Limited, and Executive Director (Oct 2013 – Jan 2014) and Managing Director (Sept 2009 – Sept 2013) of ASX listed, Elementos Limited. In 2011, Elementos completed a merger to become an advanced developer of tin and tungsten resources in Tasmania, Australia. Mr Nolan was instrumental in the identification, negotiation, due diligence, structuring and execution of the merger.

From 2006 to 2009, Mr Nolan was Business Development and Commercial Manager for Aviva Corporation, responsible for the identification, evaluation and negotiation of coal and energy related acquisition and merger opportunities in Australia and Southern Africa.

Mr Nolan commenced his career in the financial services industry as a resources equities analyst at firms including Wilson HTM and Morgan Stanley, and as a Director of the Corporate Finance practice of global advisory firm PWC.

Mr Nolan’s qualifications include a Bachelor of Commerce, and a Masters Degree in Mineral and Energy Economics. Mr Nolan is also a diploma graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

The Lithium Market

E-News Subscribe

Corporate Head Office


+61 7 3369 7058
Suite 68, 283 Given Tce, Paddington QLD 4064
PO Box 1357, Milton QLD 4064